|en bild wr1|
“The colorful town in the Harz region” is how the poet Hermann Löns once named Wernigerode. In Wernigerode you can anticipate a varied cultural offer with castle festivals, the Old Town Festival, Rathausfest (town hall festival), wine tasting days and much more besides. The town was built in the 9th century during the period of major clearing activities in the Harz Mountains. In 1229 Wernigerode was awarded a town charter.
Today, the town on the northern fringes of the Harz mountains has about 35,000 inhabitants. Sights include: the well-known historic town hall, that is more than 500 years old, the picturesque half-timbered houses of the Old Town and, above all, the Wernigeröder Castle, located high above the town on the Agnesberg.
The town’s sights are within a few minutes walking distance of your holiday home. Experience the flair of our town first-hand.
|en bild wr2|
Wernigerode Castle towers above the town. Visitors value the view from the recreational terrace up towards the Brocken mountain and the Harz mountains as well as a visit to the museum, which provides an insight into the princely life of former times. The castle was at that time the royal seat of the princes of Stolberg-Wernigerode.
A “Feudal Museum” was created in the castle, after it was handed over to the town of Wernigerode in 1946. From 1990 onwards, the castle was initially run under the name of "Schloßmuseum" and since 1998 it has served as the first German museum centre for 19th century art and cultural history. In almost 50 rooms, living rooms of the German nobility of the period before 1918 that have the original fixtures and fittings of the age as well as thematic rooms on the history of the Stolberg-Wernigerode family and the second German imperial empire are on display. Additional focal points include the craftwork and furniture from the 16th to the 19th centuries. (Source: wikipedia.org)
|en bild wr5|
Wernigerode - town hall
It is considered one of Europe’s most beautiful town halls. The dominant building on the market square was first referred to in 1277 as the gimnasio vel theatro (playhouse and court house). Upon the addition of another storey in 1492, the "Playhouse" was provided with a large festival hall, which could be entered via a free-standing staircase on the west side. Provided with a high gable, the building became the dominant centre of the market square. The building, that was completed in 1497, was more in keeping with the bourgeoisie, which demanded a municipal representative office. It assumed its current appearance after a fire in 1521 and another reconstruction in the years 1539 to 1544. The carved figures, with which the floor and roof overhangs are decorated, are particularly noteworthy. (Source: wikipedia.org)
|en bild wr6|
|en bild wr9|
The Harz region – our home
The town of Wernigerode
In and around Wernigerode
Hiking tours and / or cycling / mountain biking tours